Naira Scarcity Loom as Electricity, Bank Workers, Others Join Labour Strike

Naira Scarcity Loom as Electricity, Bank Workers, Others Join Labour Strike

Electricity and bank workers have joined the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) and Trade Union Congress (TUC)-called strike.

The NLC posted circulars from affiliate unions who have signaled their cooperation with the strike, which began at midnight, to condemn the assault on its president, Joe Ajaero, in a Facebook post on Tuesday morning.

The National Union of Electricity Employees (NUEE), the National Union of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions Employees (NUBIFIE), and the Senior Staff Association of Nigeria Polytechnics (SSANIP) are among the unions that have joined the strike.

Other unions include the National Union of Food, Beverage, and Tobacco Workers, the Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria (MWUN), the National Union of Electricity Employees, the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), and the Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics (ASUP).

Remember that the organized labor movement urged its members on Monday to begin mobilizing for a statewide strike in response to the assault on NLC President Joe Ajaero.

Festus Osifo, President of the TUC, told the media at the NLC National Secretariat in Abuja that the strike would continue until governments at all levels accepted responsibility.

Breaking: PDP Wins Bayelsa State Governorship Election

As a result, he instructed its affiliates to carry out the National Executive Council’s (NEC) resolutions.

Aviation Workers Refuse to Join National Strike

Workers’ unions in the aviation industry have refused to join the Organised Labour’s indefinite countrywide strike.

Comrade Ocheme Aba, General Secretary of the Nigerian Union of Air Transport Employees (NUATE), stated that the aviation unions will not engage in the strike immediately.

The NUATE scribe told Nairametrics that if the strike continues for too long, the unions may join the action in the following days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *